Our Team

Staff and Board

Proud to be environmental stewards through conservation and sustainable practices

Michelle Skedgell

Executive Director

Email: skedgellm@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Sara Syswerda

Education Director

Education Assistant: Jim Kolar

Email: syswerdas@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Cathy Hart-Jansma

Development Director

Email: hartjansmac@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Tracy Noorman

HR & Hospitality Manager

Email: noormant@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Rick Hemerling

Finance Director

Email: hemerlingr@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Nancy Cotant

Finance Assistant

Email: cotantn@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Sara Lien Edelman

Marketing Coordinator

Email: lienedelmans@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Barb Matyasic

Guest Services and Graphic Design Coordinator

Email: matyasicb@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Matt Dykstra

Field Station Manager

Email: dykstram@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Bob Gilbert

Operations Director

Email: gilbertb@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Mary Parr

Stewardship Manager

Email: parrm@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Ellen Holste

Community Program Manager

Email: holstee@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Dillon Coss

Facilities Manager

Facilities Assistant: Joseph Curcie

Housekeeping: Meagan Eddy

Email: cossd@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Dan Belson


Assistant Chef: Melissa Baker

Kitchen Assistant: Cheryl Easey

Email: belsond@cedarcreekinstitute.org


Foundation Board

The Pierce Foundation is overseen by a group of dedicated individuals.
Secure Board Member Log-In

Carl Schoessel, President


Jim DeCamp, Vice President

National Sales Manager, Flexfab



Jim Toburen, Treasurer


Dave Arnold, Trustee





Willard L. "Joe" Pierce, Trustee


Matt Zimmerman, Trustee

Partner, Varnum Law

Sharon Van Loon, Trustee

Account Executive, Berends Hendricks Stuit Insurance



Hilary Snell, Emeritus Trustee

Varnum Law




Matt Goebel, Trustee

Superintendent, Hastings Area Schools